Brazilian Government

Brazil has established a federal republic government, which contains 26 states and one federal district. These states are Acre, Alagoas, Amapa, Amazonas, Bahia, Ceara, Distrito Federal (federal district), Espirito Santo, Goias, Marabhao, Mato Grosso, Mato Grosso do Sul, Minas Gerais, Para, Paraiba, Parana, Pernambuco, Piaui, Rio de Janeiro, Rio Grande do Norte, Rio Grande do Sul, Rondonia, Roraima, Santa Catarina, Sao Paulo, Sergipe, and Tocantins. On September 7, 1822 Brazil gained it independence from Portugal. It then established itsfirst of constitution on March 25, 1824.
Brazil has had eight constitutions since its independence in 1822. The republican constitution publicized on February 24, 1891, this was very similar to the United States constitution, containing separation of powers, checks and balances, a bicameral legislature, federalism, and direct elections. The ideas of corporatism and centralization from Italy and Portugal influenced the 1934 and 1937 constitutions. Brazil then returned to a representative democracy in 1945-46 and produced a more balanced, liberal document, which maintained a considerable role for the state in the nation's economy. Military rule after 1964 forced an unequal balance between "relative democracy" and the "safeguards of a national security state," reflected in the 1967 and 1969 constitutions. At the current time an attempt to thoroughly revise the 1988 constitution was begun in February 1995. Some members of both houses would like to use he 1998 elections to again convoke a "constitutional revision Congress" in 1999, to do a revision by a unicameral, absolute majority.
Brazil has a government with three major branches: Executive branch, Legislative branch, and Judicial branch. In the executive branch Brazil's chief of state is now President Fernando Henrique Cardoso, since January 5, 1995; with Vice President Marco Maciel a

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *